Edinburgh : round 1

On my second day in Scotland, Lindsey and I made the one hour train journey into Edinburgh for the day. In the morning, we visited Edinburgh Castle and went on a walking tour where we learned about the history of Edinburgh and Scotland. My favourite things that I learned from that tour were that Edinburgh was a centre for intellectual work and was at one time considered the ‘Athens of the North’ and that they had a great public school system very early on.

After a quick lunch at Nandos, we went to the National Museum of Scotland and explored their exhibit on design. The exhibit explored some history of design in Scotland and included this quote which I really appreciated: “Many designers believed that designing the environment which people inhabited, and the objects they used, would improve the physical and spiritual well being of the nation.” After that, we walked back to Waverley train station and returned to St Andrews.

Click through the photos to learn more about each one! I know that most of the captions talk about how beautiful something was but the city is so beautiful I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

